Match Reports‎ > ‎

Reserve League 2 Final 2013 - Rathcline vs. Ballymahon

posted 30 Jun 2013, 02:17 by Unknown user   [ updated 5 Jul 2013, 16:25 ]

Date: 29th June 2013

Venue: Pairc Ciaran, Newtowncashel

Final Score: Rathcline 4-08, Ballymahon 3-08

Reserve League 2 – Pride of our parish this week undoubtedly lies with our Reserve League team who were crowned Intermediate League Champions on Saturday evening in Cashel with a thrilling win over Ballymahon. This is the second year in a row where Joe Rooney has cast his midas touch in this competition and indeed it is worth noting that Rathcline have won this competition in three of the last four years under Joe’s stewardship. This year’s win was even more special as the team had titanic battles through the group stages as well the famous semi final replay win over St. Columbas. 

Although after five minutes in the final our winning run looked like it was coming to abrupt end when Ballymahon registered a 2:02 to no score lead. However, the Rathcline lads did not panic and star man Colly Fayne kicked started the rival with a famous hattrick of goals to put Rathcline in the ascendancy. A couple of positional changes in defence nullified the Ballymahon threat. Kevin Chapman and James Hanley landed a couple of well taken points. These scores were compounded with a well taken penalty by Kevin Hanley to give Rathcline a three point lead going into half time. The second half was a lot more cagey with both teams cancelling each other out in different sectors of the field. The introduction of Michael Morrisey into the defence and Mel Shanley up front helped steady the ship with Mel registering a well taken point. Colly and James added to their tallies with some vital free taking and Rathcline hung on for a fantastic three point win. There was no doubt it was Colin Fayne show in Cashel but it took the complete panel of players to get the team over the line.

Congratulations to all involved

Final Score: Rathline 4-08, Ballymahon 3-08

Team: Tony Mulligan, Cathal Greene, Danny O' Sullivan, Eamonn Farrell, Anthony Farrell, Michael Hanley, Stephen Farrell, Shane Casserely, Kevin Chapman, Fiachra Beirne, Kevin Hanley, David Rooney, James Hanley, Joey Rooney, Colin Fayne. Subs: Michael Morrisey, Mel Shanley, Conor McGrath, Sean Morrisey, Gareth O' Reilly, David Mulvihill, Jack Rooney.

Pictures available on the Club Photos section of the website as well as Club Facebook account.

Longford Leader Match Report